The Imagination Factory

The great Pablo Picasso once said, “art is a lie that makes us realize the truth”. He also said that art is the elimination of the unnecessary.

From a young age, I have always been fascinated by art; paintings, sketches, sculptures. I tried my hand once in art where I would try to sketch the Ogopa Deejays logo ogopa-logo_80_100_400x400or the Wutang Clan. And I remember in junior school, we’d compete who could make the best sketch of any of these logos. wulogonew

 

 

 

My fascination for art grew when this one time I watched the contreversial Da Vinci movie and I remember watching it several times in order to understand the conspiracy behind some of the renowned paintings in human history – The Monalisa and The Last Supper. More so the latter was said to hide a well-kept secret- the relationship between Jesus and Mary Magdalene. Well, not that I believe in all this conspiracy but Leonardo Da Vinci did a pretty damn good job in hiding this entire conspiracy in just one painting.

the-last-supper-1498-large
The Last Supper by Leonardo Da Vinci

Another painting that has always fascinated me is Michelangelo’s Creation of Adam which sits majestically in the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel in the Apostolic Palace in the Vatican City.

michelangelo-creation-of-adam
Michelangelo’s Creation of Adam

With all this art fascination, one would think I spend my leisure time going to art galleries. Well, naaaaaaah! But fortunately this coming weekend, my great hometown of Embu will be hosting the first ever art gallery.

IMG-20160817-WA0004
The Embu ART Gallery

The opening party is this Friday 26th August at June’s Fire & Ice with tickets going for Kshs.500 (US$ 5) that includes one free drink and bitings. The gallery will remain open till Wednesday 31st August, meaning you can still come through if you don’t make it for the Friday night opening. All art on showcase will be priced under Kshs.50,000 making it affordable for all art lovers.

See you all there…

cheers.

Leave a Reply

